Collaborating in Studio with teammates who don’t have Revu

Samenwerken in Studio met andere niet Revu gebruikers. Mensen waar je samen een document wil bespreken, annoteren, … hoeven zelf geen Revu software aan te kopen. Via je eigen licentie kan je externen uitnodigen tot deelname. Lees verder…

Vous avez Revu en souhaitez partager avec des internes/externes vos documents? Dans Revu vous avez Studio permettant de réaliser des Sessions et partager des projets. Les personnes qui n’ont pas le logiciel pourront néanmoins participer sans devoir achter une licence. Lire plus loin…

Have you ever wanted to invite a team member who doesn’t own Revu to a Studio Project or Session? You can, by having them use Revu in View Mode. This free version of Revu allows anyone to view and print PDF documents, fill out and save PDF forms and, best of all, collaborate with others using Bluebeam Studio.

There are two sides to Studio: Studio Projects and Studio Sessions. This article will help you figure out which is best for the collaboration needs of your team, and how you and your team members can participate in both.

How to activate View mode

To start, you’ll need to download Revu 2018 from our website and install it on your PC. During the installation, when Revu asks you to enter your serial number and product key, click Use as Trial. This will activate a 30-day trial of Revu, granting you full access to the software. Once the trial ends, Revu will automatically switch View Mode until a license key is purchased. You can also switch to View Mode at any time by clicking Revu > View Mode.

Studio Sessions 

Studio Sessions are for PDF-based online collaboration. While in a Studio Session, any user running in View Mode will have access to all of the markup and tool set features normally reserved for licensed users of Revu. This means that you can take measurements, add comments and place markups on PDFs to share your thoughts with others participating in the Studio Session with you.

How Sessions Work

While in a Session, there is no need to check files in and out. All you need to do is click on a PDF to open it, even if other users have the PDF opened. That is the beauty of Sessions: real-time collaboration. All users in the Session markup the document, and everyone can see what others are adding or have added. There is also a Record that captures user activity, including the user name and what they added, modified or removed from the PDF.

Editing markups

To preserve each user’s accountability, markups can only be edited or removed by the user who initially created them.

Automatic cloud backup

All markups are added in real-time and uploaded to the cloud as you add them to the PDF, so even if you lose connection to the Session, your markups are safely stored in the cloud within that Session. Revu will even remember which PDFs you had open and will restore them for you automatically, so you can pick up right where you left off once internet connectivity is restored.

Studio Projects 

Studio Projects is Bluebeam’s simple document management system that lets you store many different file types – including PDFs, Microsoft Office files and images – in the cloud. Keep in mind, when using View Mode to access a Project, the PDF files in the Project can only be viewed – markups are restricted. However, if there is a PDF document in the Project that you need to add markups to, you can ask the Project owner (the person who invited you to the Project) to add the PDF to a Session. Alternatively, the Project owner can also use the Share Link feature, which would allow you to download a local copy of the Project file to your PC.

How to add Project documents to a Session

The Project owner simply has to right-click on the PDF document and add it to a new Session. The owner can give this ability to other users in the Project via Permissions as well. Once the PDF is added to a Session, a user in View mode can access that Session as before, using either an invitation link or the Studio ID number. As mentioned earlier, the markup capabilities of Revu would be unlocked while working in a Studio Session for this View mode user.

  1. Have the owner join the Project, select the file, and then click the ellipses (…) button towards the top right corner of the Project display area.
  2. In the drop-down menu that appears, the owner can then click Share Link…. A window will appear, allowing the owner to set how long the download link should be active, and whether or not to require a password.
  3. Upon clicking OK, Revu will generate a hyperlink that can be copied to the owner’s clipboard and distributed. (Users in View Mode will still be able to download the file from this link!)

Note that users will be downloading a local version of the Project file, and so the downloaded file will not be connected to the Project in any way.

Working with non-PDF files in Projects

Other file types — like Excel® spreadsheets and Word documents — can also be added to Studio Projects. These files may be checked out and edited locally using an appropriate program (e.g. Word® or Excel), then checked back into the Project.

To work with non-PDF file types:

  1. Right-click on the file and select Check Out The file will now be listed in the Pending section of the Project with a blue icon  next to it.
  2. Right-click on the file again and select Open This will open the file with its associated application.
  3. Edit the document in the application, and save your changes as you normally would.
  4. Now go back to the Studio Project, right-click on the file listed in the Pending section, and select Check In  from the menu.

During the check-in process, you will be prompted to add comments. These comments will be added to the document’s Revision History. To view the Revision History, right click on the document and select Revision History.Please remember these tasks are only for non-PDF documents. PDF markup and editing in a Project is restricted when using Revu in View Mode. Use a Studio Session instead to markup PDF documents.

Recovering Studio files

If you lose internet connectivity after checking out a file, you should see your activity in the Pending Changes section. Once you connect to the internet again, pending changes will be saved to the Project file.

You may also like...